An Overview of the Accountability Sector
The Accountability Sector was formed following the adoption of the Sector Wide Approach to planning in 1998. The Sector is one of the enabling sectors that provide a conducive environment for the efficient performance of the primary sectors of the economy. The accountability sector was constituted to spearhead promotion, supervision and implementation of accountability systems in a coordinated manner.

The accountability sector’s vision is transparency and accountability in public service delivery.

The sector’s mission is to promote efficiency and effectiveness in mobilization and utilization of public resources.

The core values of the accountability sector are integrity; transparency and accountability; value for money; professionalism; commitment and teamwork; gender equality and equity.

The goal of the accountability sector is to achieve a transparent, responsive and accountable public sector that delivers value for money services in a timely and effective manner.

As per the NDP II, the accountability sector is composed of two sub sectors of (i) audit and (ii) economic and financial management services.

The objectives of the audit subsector are to:

  1. enhance the prevention, detection, and elimination of corruption;
  2. increase public demand for accountability;
  3. improve compliance with accountability rules and regulations;
  4. improve collaboration and networking amongst development institutions; and
  5. enhance public contract management and performance;

The objectives of the economic and financial management services subsector are to:

  1. increase the tax to GDP ratio;
  2. increase access to finance;
  3. increase private investments;
  4. reduce interest rates;
  5. improve Public Financial Management and consistency in the economic development framework;
  6. increase insurance penetration;
  7. increase national savings to GDP ratio;
  8. increase the level of capitalisation and widen investment opportunities in the capital markets; and
  9. aimprove statistical data production and policy reserach.

The sector brings together state and non-state actors for the purpose of planning, developing, and implementing policies and regulations for a stable macroeconomic environment, transparent and accountable systems to facilitate economic growth. The accountability sector institutions include:

  1. Ministry of Finance Planning and Economic Development;
  2. Bank of Uganda;
  3. Inspectorate of Government;
  4. Directorate of Ethics and Integrity;
  5. Office of the Auditor General;
  6. Uganda Bureau of Statistics;
  7. Uganda Revenue Authority;
  8. Public Procurement and Disposal of Assets Authority;
  9. Ministry of Public Service (Inspection);
  10. Ministry of Local Government (Inspectorate);
  11. Kampala Capital City Authority (Revenue collection and mobilisation);
  12. Capital Markets Authority;
  13. Uganda Retirements Benefits Regulatory Authority (URBRA);
  14. National Social Security Fund;
  15. Uganda Development Bank Limited;
  16. Uganda Investment Authority;
  17. Private Sector Foundation Uganda;
  18. Economic Policy Research Centre;
  19. Insurance Regulatory Authority; and
  20. Uganda Financial Intelligence Authority.

Other players include capital markets, financial institutions, insurance companies, professional bodies, business associations, development partners and CSOs.

The composition of the sector is based on the respective institutional contributions to the accountability cycle as mandated by the relevant legislation. In executing their mandates, the sector institutions are expected to work in collaboration to implement complementary accountability programmes to achieve sector objectives.

The Governance structure of the accountability sector provides for three committees namely Leadership Committee, Steering committee and the Sector Working Group.

The Leadership Committee provides political leadership and policy guidance to the sector and is comprised of the:

  1. Minister of Finance Planning and Economic Development (Chair);
  2. Minister of State for Ethics and Integrity;
  3. Minister of Public Service;
  4. Minister of Local Government;
  5. Minister for the Presidency;
  6. Inspector General of Government
  7. The Auditor General
  8. The Permanent Secretary/Secretary to the Treasury

The Steering committee formulates sector policies and priorities, and is comprised of the:

  1. Secretary, Directorate for Ethics and Integrity, Office of the President
  2. Secretary Inspectorate of Government
  3. PS, Ministry of Public Service
  4. PS, Ministry of Local Government
  5. Executive Director, PPDA
  6. Executive Director, UBOS
  7. Commissioner General, URA
  8. Under Secretary/Accounting Officer; MFPED
  9. Executive Director, KCCA
  10. Development Partner Representative

The Sector Working Group (SWG) implements sector policies in line with the Accountability Sector Strategic investment plan (ASSIP), and as guided by the above committees. The SWG is comprised of technical officials at the level of Director/Commissioner or equivalent from sector institutions and representatives of development partners, private sector and civil society.



Accountability Sector Strategic Investment Plan 2017/18 – 2019/20 Report 

Accountability Sector Joint Annual review (ASJAR) 2017 presentations:

  1. Audit/Anticorruption Subsector Performance 2016/7 
  2. Economic and Financial Management Services Subsector Performance – FY2016/17




Secretariat for Accountability Sector
Ministry of Finance, Planning & Economic Development
Plot 2/12, Apollo Kaggwa Road
P. O. Box 8147, Kampala- Uganda
Tel: +256 414 707 507/8