The Minister of State for Finance in charge of General duties, Dr.Ajedra Gabriel has inaugurated the members of the new board of Directors of the Public Procurement and Disposal of Public Assets Authority (PPDA) chaired by Julius Karekoona Ishungisa.

During the function which took place on Wednesday, at the Ministry of Finance, Ajedra urged the new board members to ensure that the PPDA (Amendment Bill, 2019) which will soon be presented in Parliament is supported to enable the efficient execution of Government projects without delay.

He also tasked them to ensure that the timeline for the agreed go-live date of 1st July 2019 for the E-Government procurement system is observed.

“I urge you to strengthen the local content aspect in procurement following the guidance issued on reservation schemes to promote participation of the local providers in procurement,” said the Minister adding that he has confidence in the professional competence and integrity of the board to steer the authority to greater heights.

The new PPDA board Chairman on behalf of the board pledged commitment to deliver on their mandate.

“In pursuit of our responsibilities, we shall take stock of our policies with a view to improve them where they may be inadequate or put them in place where they may be non-existent,” Ishungisa said.

The outgoing Chairman of the PPDA Board Prof.Simeon Wanyama thanked the Minister of Finance who appointed them to serve for the last 8 years.

Also present were the Deputy Secretary to the Treasury, Patrick Ocailap and the Accountant General Lawrence Semakula.

Other members of the board include: Eng.Bwanga George (Engineers Registration Board), Arch.Dorothy Abola (Architects Registration Board), Ms. Namakiika Rita (Uganda Law Society), Godfrey Ssemugooma (Ministry of Finance), Xavier Kyooma Akampurira (Ministry of Finance) and Dr.Levi Kabagambe (Ministry of Finance).